Announcing the 2024 Health Policy Fellowship cohort  

January 26, 2024

We are pleased to announce our 2024 Health Policy Fellowship cohort. 

More than 125 health researchers, policymakers, and nonprofit leaders have completed the fellowship since its launch in 2012. Many fellowship alumni occupy influential roles as policymakers and leaders across Michigan. 

The 2024 fellowship cohort will include:

  • Chelsea Alcock, Legislative Assistant, 52nd District, Michigan House of Representatives
  • Dr. Frank Conyers, Clinical Assistant Professor, Department of Neurology, Michigan Medicine 
  • Samantha Cornell, Director of Community Based Services, Access Health
  • Elizabeth Crenshaw, Director of District and Constituent Services, 7th District, Michigan Senate 
  • Jennifer Day, Community Building Manager, Michigan Breastfeeding Network
  • Thye Fischman, Manager of Government Relations,  Department of Government Relations, Michigan Medicine
  • Morgan Foreman, Director of Constituent Services, 33rd District, Michigan House of Representatives
  • Shannon Jackson, Program Manager, Residents in Action
  • Stephen Jackson, Policy Advisor, Michigan Senate Democrats
  • Dr. Patrick Johnson, Resident, Department of General Surgery, Michigan Medicine 
  • Dr. Beth Kuzma, Clinical Associate Professor, Department of Nursing, Michigan Medicine 
  • Kristina Leonardi, Director of Aging and Community Services Division, Michigan Department of Health and Human Services
  • Kelsey Ostergren, Director of Health Policy Initiatives, Michigan Health and Hospital Association
  • Beverly Ryskamp, Chief Operating Officer, Network 180

The program is an immersive four-month experience that brings together a diverse group of professionals to foster collaboration among policymakers, researchers, and nonprofit professionals. 

“The CHRT Fellowship enhanced my ability to think about policy—from the formulation of the research questions to the translation of the research findings to inform policy in real- time,” says Dr. Renuka Tipirneni, Assistant Professor of Internal Medicine, University of Michigan Medical School and Institute for Healthcare Policy & Innovation. “I valued going through the experience with an incredible cohort of both policymakers and researchers. This inter-sectoral peer mentorship enhanced my training and helped me build connections that I hope will last for my entire career.”

The 2024 cohort of Health Policy Fellows will engage in interactive workshops and learning sessions in Ann Arbor, Detroit, Lansing, and Washington, DC. These sessions are designed to provide fellows with opportunities to gain insights into local, state, and federal health policy landscapes. Orientation briefings will cover essential topics such as the legislative process, Michigan state government structure, strategies to effectively communicate with legislators, and the challenges in building sustainability for nonprofit organizations.

For further information about the CHRT Health Policy Fellowship and to apply for the 2025  cohort, please contact Holly Quivera Teague, Fellowship Program Manager, at


CHRT is grateful for the generous support of our 2024 fellowship sponsors: Blue Cross Blue Shield of Michigan, the Michigan Health Endowment Fund, Michigan Medicine, and the Michigan State Medical Society.